Skip to content


Edit Content
Click on the Edit Content button to edit/add the content.

About Us

South Zone Community Gardens  

Our Story

    • The South Zone Community Gardens Association (SZCGA) operates 384 community gardens in Regina on property leased from the University of Regina. The gardens are located at 3305 Grant Road.
    • The SZCGA operates under the auspices of The South Zone Recreation Board, which is affiliated with the City of Regina.
    • South Zone Community Gardens is administered by an  elected working board.  The Board has full authority to manage the gardens in accordance with the Garden Use Agreement and Constitution.
South Zone Community Gardens
South Zone Community Gardens

Mission & Vision

    • South Zone Community Gardens shares the South Zone Recreation Board’s goal to improve the quality of residents’ lives.
    • As stewards of the SZCG we aim to improve the health and well being of the gardeners, community and the environment through shared leadership, volunteerism, education & values.
    • The vision of the South Zone Community Garden include building community connections, environmental and gardening education, and sustainability.

Garden Wisdom

“Everything that slows us down and forces patience, everything that sets us back into the slow circles of nature, is a help. Gardening is an instrument of grace. ” May Sarton

“I enjoy painting, cutting the lawn and working in the garden when I have time. That’s therapy for me. I enjoy working with my hands. ”
Billy Williams

Community Gardens in Regina

“A garden requires patient labor and attention. Plants do not grow merely to satisfy ambitions or to fulfill good intentions. They thrive because someone expended effort on them. ” Liberty Hyde Bailey

“The best place to find God is in a garden. You can dig for him there. ” George Bernard Shaw

Board Member List (SZCGA)

(As of November 2023)

Position Name
Dale Hjertaas
Bob Guthrie
Donna Braun
Don List
Darlene Boyd
Garden Patrol
Evelyn Ewert
Equipment Maintenance
Spring Directors
Bob Guthrie, Oleksander Kostenko
Summer Director
Fall Directors
Mike Quinn
Harvest with Heart
Kim Johnston
Volunteer Development
Kim Johnston & Yvonne Harris
Grounds Maintenance
Louis Lapaire
Ahmand Almahasneh

2024 Gardeners registration has been completed. No Further Applications Will Be Accepted